Nil wind launch confusion

I'm a little confused about when to let go of the A's during a nil/low wind launch.

Until now I've understood that as soon as the wing arrives overhead, you let go of the A's to prevent the wing overflying you. However, I've just been reading a 10 point nil wind launch guide by Paul Williams, which as a relative newbie, I found really helpful and well written (if you're reading, thanks Paul :D ).

A 10 point zero / low wind speed launch technique check list

Paul Williams

During a lot of conversions with a lot of different paramotor pilots, it quickly became obvious that the launching phase was the one part that many had trouble with and still do. I think a lot of this has to do with paraglider pilots using paragliding launch techniques. Paragliding and paramotoring really are very different sports done in very different ways.

What I've written below is a ten-point list of does and don'ts when it comes to getting a foot launched microlight off the ground in light to zero wind conditions. This is also the system that we use in our paramotoring school and certainly seems to work well. Note; if there is even the slightest amount of wind, it is imperative that the glider is laid out as close to the wind line as possible. It is easier to get off in a true zero wind than a constantly switching light breeze.

1. Lay out the wing flat and clear ALL lines and tangles; you will not get another chance to do this. Pay special attention to the brake lines, cascades and wing tips.