Keeping a look out - collision avoidance

Complete newbie question, but........

I understand the importance of keeping ones eyes peeled for other aircraft, but at the same time (given the slow speed of paramotors and the far greater speed of pretty much everything else) isn't this a little like asking a hedgehog to keep a good lookout when crossing the M4? Is avoidance really an option, or is it more a question of making sure you present a more visible aspect of your wing to oncoming traffic? I.e. hedgehog in hi-vis vest with strobe on its head.

Edited by Guest

Those damed balloons must sneak up on you pretty fast I imagine. I suppose the other factor, that I hadn't appreciated is that the slow speed of a paramotor also helps to reduce the closing speed compared to a couple of Group A aircraft meeting head on.

So, if fast jets don't see paramotors, what do they see? I naively imagined that paramotors were at least as visible as anything else (except balloons), if not more so. Looks like a hi-vis vest could be a plan!

It makes no difference if you are flying with Mark, if he loses sight of you it is Top Gear rules, and so leaves you any way

:)

The worst case for me is flying straight into the sun, a really good pair of shades halps, but even then you can know that someone is in front of you and totally loose them. Could be a disaster if you did not know they were there.

[*]

So, if fast jets don't see paramotors, what do they see? I naively imagined that paramotors were at least as visible as anything else (except balloons), if not more so. Looks like a hi-vis vest could be a plan!

When they're low? Closing speeds are fast. Very little collision avoidance. Which is why you gotta stay clear of the low level routes particularly during the week.

:D

Barry

Top gear rules only apply if you crash... Like Luke on the Isle of wight :lol::lol: . Or if you have an engine out and nothing can be done...