With or without reserve

Bidochon

Hi all,

I'm new to this sport and about to start my training. I bought a paramotor and was about to buy a reserve parachute.... but some people told me that if I don't do anything crazy with my paramotor, having a parachute can lead to more accidents (reserve deployed by mistake...) than not having one.... other tell me that I must have one.... I'm confused. do you have any recommendations for me?   Thanks

You don't have to just be doing crazy things to need a reserve but if you fly safely and in optimal conditions then your odds are good. It's one more thing to pre-flight check and one more thing to be mindful about - but being mindful is what flying involves. If you intend to fly higher than just hedge-hopping then I see no reason not to have one. 

• Upvote 1

There's a good account in skywings from this month about a paramotorist flying a few thousand feet up, trimmers fully open, on full bar and getting a big collapse that started to rotate. He threw his reserve and survived.

They aren't exactly difficult to attach properly and check.

• Upvote 1

A couple of years back I flew my first handful of flights without one... no issue what so ever. That said as soon as I flew with one I was much more relaxed and definitely happier. I'll never fly without one now.

Exactly as its been said by aljken... they're easy to fit and check so why wouldn't you?

If you get one and can get yourself to a 'zip line reserve day' I would. In a pinch a reserve can be harder to detach and throw than you think (i.e. potentially spinning, G's and lines everywhere). You need to know how to use one as second nature, as well as how to look after one.

Enjoy your training.