Paramotor Books

i want to learn as much about paramotoring as possible before i start flying. gotta save up $! does anybody have any opinions on which paramotor book i should get? either Paramotoring From the ground up by Noel Whittall, or The Powered Paragliding bible by Jeff Goin. thanx!

the dec 15 2008 edition of Paramotoring From the ground up by Noel Whittall
As an absolute newbie I certainly found this book a very useful introduction to PPG - as it is well structured, and a very easy read.

But you will soon find that it needs to be used in conjunction with information on these forums, when you want to go into more detail around topics such as navigation and meteorology.

Don't think that there is a comprehensive 'PPG Bible' out there yet - but Norman seems to be working towards one :D

Andy

When I was first interested in PPGI had from the ground up which is an excellent introduction. More recently I have the PPG Bible which goes into a bit more depth. It'sa bit more USAcentric but the theory still holds up.

Norman - "They won't be out till the backside of next year". That's a bit of an arse - I can't wait!

Tj

Definately get the Powered Paragliding Bible.

Before getting the bible I purchased "Paramotoring from the ground up" and "Touching cloudbase" and while these are good books, I found the bible to be more comprehensive. I also liked the little tip boxes to help you self-diagnose when your launches go wrong.

Awesome wordery. ;-)

SW :D

I agree! Normans page measures up to his usual, impeccable standards!!!

A stark contrast to the "Powered paragliding bible". I enjoyed and learnt a lot from this book but found the spelling, grammatical and editing errors very distracting. I would still recommend it over "Paramotoring from the ground up" which I found to be very basic.

Worth reading as many books as you can get your hands on as there are nuggets of info which are different in each one. :D

Best regards,

Ian.

• 2 weeks later...