Paramotor Re-Design

Zeus

Hello, This is the opportunity to have your say in what would be your ideal paramotor! I am a 3rd year designer on Transportation Design at Northumbria University and currently undertaking a competition in which i want to re-design and re-package the Paramotor.

I am posting this discussion to try and pick your brains for any ideas you have that would solve any current paramotoring problems or anything that would enhance the experience and make it easier for the user.

The ideas can be as crazy as you like. Is there anything that the paramotor doesn't do which you would like it to do? Is there anything about the paramotor which makes it awkward to use? Seriously anything you can think of will really aid my design process.

Thankyou

Roy

Hello Roy.

One of the weaknesses of many paramotors is the ability for the cage to flex enough to come into contact with the spinning propellor.

This usually occurs when stumbling or tripping, or generally losing ones balance during the take off run, and happens when the cage strikes the ground and gets deflected.

One of the paramotors renowned for its strength and resistance to prop strike is the Flat Top, do a search and you'll soon find it. Whether it owes its strength to the additional cross members between the front and rear hoops of the cage I don't really know.

With my paramotor, a Fresh Breeze Airboss, the rubber engine mounts will allow the cage to move enough to strike the prop when subjected to enough force, as in falling over. Maybe this aspect of anti vibration engine mounting can be looked at.

Good luck,

Alan