ppc vs ppg

I am a newb to this sport and I have just got started with some training. After meeting and talking to the instructor for two hours about the differences Im still a bit confused about which way to go. PPC training is less expensive and gets you in the air quicker and seems to be a little safer due to the wing loading but perhaps a bit less portable. Im told there is much less maintenance requiremens with the ppc option as well.  I dont however seem to be able to find much available online regarding powered parachutes availability and there seems to be much more iin the way of ppg equipment .. supposedly my local instructor isnt big on selling gear but would help me find whatever.

Hi, 

Personally, I would say that learning to fly a trike (PPC) from scratch will be harder than learning to foot launch first. The main reason being that in a trike you are disconnected from the 'feel' of the wing making it hard to know where it is all the time during launch. 

If you have physical limitations, then clearly this is not always an option. 

Either will work for you for sure, but I think the foot launched approach will be quicker and improve your skills massively. 

SW :D

Yes i agree with Si unless there's some health or physical reason for NOT going foot launch, and i cannot see maintenance side being much different as both need machine and equipment checks before flight O.o, but also if you do go trike then several on the market break down into compact bundles. but if your not happy with instructor seek a second opinion from another, or even better go talk to trike powered fliers who will have experience in the process