Future Pilot?

Hi All

I just thought I'd introduce myself as I have just registered, I have been reading posts on here for a while but have decided I definitely want to start Paramotoring in around April time next year.

I thought now would be a good time to start doing more in-depth research while I still have plenty of time to make decisions.

My names Neil and I'm a Regional Manager for a large UK company and look after a patch from Leicester to Great Yarmouth. I live in the West Midlands not too far from Dudley and Stourbridge.

I've been really impressed by the knowledge and lack of snobbery on this forum and how its nice to see people with a lot of experience so willing to pass that experience down.

Hopefully I will benefit from some of this and hope to maybe make a few flying buddies on here too.

I've been into flying all my life, was an Air Cadet and got to fly the Chipmunk (10 hours), Bulldog (120 hours), Tucano (2 hours) (All with an instructor present of course) and also had a back seat ride in a Tornado. I always wanted to fly but decided military life wasn't for me. I've looked at getting a PPL but mortgage and not meeting my aspirational pay goal means that isn't likely to happen!

So Paramotoring is the way forward for me, I need to look into where I can train, is a £5k budget realistic to train and get airborne and is my 17st alcohol derived pot belly going to keep my feet on the ground. I'm not looking to to anything fancy, just meander around looking at the scenery and enjoy the freedom of being in the air. - and maybe when I get confident fly to the seaside!

So there we go, really nice to join here, hope to get chatting to you all soon.

Welcome to the Paramotor Club :-)

Training costs around £1000 +

Second hand motor (half decent) £2500... .? ish

Second hand wing (half decent) £1500... ? Ish.

Hope this helps :-)

SW :D

Tom

How much is 17st anyway

106kg.......oh but you don't do that either............238lbs!!

Neil