What pilot training have you had ???

How did you learn to fly a paramotor ?  

67 members have voted

1. 1. How did you learn to fly a paramotor ?

• BHPA - free flight & motor
    • BHPA - motor only
    • PMC instructor trained
    • BMAA or other recognised organisation (UK or foreign)
    • Freelance (non affiliated instructor) trained
    • Self taught / no formal training
    • xxxx....... now select one option from below ......xxxx
    • Do you free fly as well as motor ?
    • Paramotor only ?

Further to recent discussion topic about training, it would be interesting to see how the current mix of pilots is made up.

2 votes are allowed, to answer the bottom questions as well as the training.

NB: it isn't a debate on which training is best, just how people got started in PPG. It is assumed that most UK hill pilots will have had BHPA training or conversion for free flight, so the main focus is on PPG.

Can the poll be open to selllect more than two options? there are some pilots who are self/ mate taught but now have BHPA pilot through alternate entry (no formal training). Some will be BMMA trained moter, then converted BHPA motor pilot. :D

:lol::lol:

This is an interesting idea. I think we would required at least a couple of hundred votes to get any sort of real idea of the spread.

This forum has just over 2000 active members so we should be able to get a reasonably accurate result here.

Come on hit the vote button.

SW :D

Can the poll be open to selllect more than two options?

I though it was complicated enough .... you know how confused pilots get when confronted with more than 2 choices .... :lol:

I guess you could tick self taught AND BHPA motor if you converted - since even if they didn't train you initially you have chosen to take an external assessment. The options cover the main entry choices to motoring, but if you did it differently just add a note to the thread.