Cutting through paracord

arnzzz

Hey

I'm new to this stuff, but I've been thinking about those times when you may need to throw a reserve chute.

I have seen multiple videos where people have thrown their reserve chute and its got caught in their main chute (in the panic I think they didnt process the down sides of doing that).

Luckily it looked like they survived.

Hence I was wondering if its common to carry some kind of blade, whether its a specific cord cutting device, or if anyone is carrying a flip knife, or sheathed knife in case they do need to cut their cords before deploying their reserve.

I like the idea of having a knife, but then it scares the crap out of me when i think about what part of me that blade might end up penetrating during a crash landing lol.

again, im new here and to paramotors, so this may well be obvious that carrying any blade is bad news. 

hey Simon,

Thanks for the reply. I had no idea the lines were that tough!

I seem to remember a video of a guy who had spun around maybe 20 times, so the lines were completely wrapped up. He had lots of altitude but was dropping fast and was trying to pull the wing in close to throw the reserve, it looked bloody tough, but im sure the human body can do great things in that kind of situation, IF you dont just freeze lol.

So from what you said, i would assume the only real option is to pull in the wing as much as possible before throwning the reserve?

If you ever get a chance to do a video, that would be really interesting.