Corsair Black Devil Power Problems

terry999

Hi all, I am new to the Paramotor Forum so please forgive me if my problem has been discussed before, ( I am sure this is not a new problem).

I fly a Dudek Reaction TST with a Fly Kompress (black devl engine). I have recently had problems getting full power with my max revs being 6500 rpm. I have changed the reduction belt and bearings after a prop strike but I'm still having problems getting full power.

On several occaions when my engine is cold it will reach 7600 rpm but after a few mins when I am ready to fly my power is reduced to 6200 - 6500 rpm. I have flown today reaching 6500 rpm but when getting back home and the engine is cold again its going to 7100 rpm. I have tried altering the belt tension.

Has anyone got any suggestions as this engine has only done 50 hrs.

:dive: Terry.

Hi Terry,

Hmmmmmmm, lack of revs when hot? likely that the coil is breaking down....

Also tried changing the plug or Cap?

I cant understand when hot that the prop is restricting the amount of revs your engine can produce, however if someone can explain that to me that'll be great.

just my 2p worth.

Woody

The smart Money is to try and ask, very Nicely if Pete B when next at lambourn can take a look at it for you.

My thoughts are that your engine has been tuned whilst cold.

it needs to be tuned whilst hot as that is how it will fly.

it is common for revs to be higher on a cold machine, lower when the same unit is warm.

The fact that the revs change between hot and cold should discount the prop as the problem

Cold air in a cold engine runs leaner, than the same settings when warm.

If I had to guess its worth checking if the top end is too rich, Pete may well say this is Baldwindash

Pete is to tuning what Christine Keeler is to high class hooking :D