Total Newbie

Hi, Dave here. I am 46 and a total novice. I am going to be staying in Stevenage, Hertfordshire for the next six months and looking to hook up with others, even if it's just to chat so that I can learn more about this sport. Not sure how best to achieve my goal ie EP/CP course or straight in for the PPG course. Any advice?

Manythanks.

Dave

I am getting confused! Having viewed many PPG schools on the web, I am wondering what training you actually get for your money. Some schools give different number of days of training, some want to sell you their equipment as part of their training but I can't find any with a complete syllabus. How many take offs and landings are you expected to do, how much flight time is included and what manoeuvres should be done as part of your airborne time? Any cross country and navigation skills, parachute deployment etc. I have also seen lots of videos of instructors on YouTube, some sound and look good and others! It would appear that some schools follow bhpa syllabus but what exactly is the syllabus? Am I missing something?

I would phoneup and ask the school if i were you. The last time I looked you could type in your postcode on the BHPA website and it found a school near where you lived. There's other non BHPA schools too, I suspect there will be a list of them on internet too somewhere.

I wouldn't advise anyone who's never flown to commit to buying any equipment until they have qualified.

Where do you live?

Many thanks Simon.