revo beginner trim settings?

macey2kk

revo beginner trim settings  

5 members have voted

1. 1. revo beginner trim settings

• slow for take off and landing - fast once airborne
    • slow for take off and landing - slow in flight until more experienced.

as a beginner with a new revo 30 im looking for advice on trim settings...

i know on take off and landings to keep on slow, but as a beginner and understanding also that these wings are more stable on fast trim - should i go to fast once airborne, or keep to slow despite being less stable?

dilema!!!

Hi

I am a beginner too. Have had 15 flights and about 8 hours, with all but the first two flights on my Revolution 28.

My experience for what it's worth is that I got onto full reflex on my first Revolution flight to make the most of the increased protection from collapses. I then realised that I had become a bit dependant on it at the expense of confidence steering with the brakes and have made a concious decision over the last few flights to have some time on slower trim settings making tighter manouveres!

As a beginner I tend to fly in conditions that are safe for all trim settings from neutral to full reflex, and so use the trim settings that I want to at the time.

If I am trying to catch up with a flying mate, if it gets a bit bumpy, want to make progess over the ground or through stronger winds then I go to full reflex and use weight shift along with my retro-fit tip steering kit (which has made a world of improvement from pulling the stabilo lines as I did for quite a few flights!)

If there is low wind and I don't need to make progress, or just want to wang it around using the brakes then I use 1 or 2 inch of trim.

Take-off always 1 inch. Landing either full slow in low wind or 1 inch in higher winds.

I love the confidence that this wing inspires on all trim settings. Even when the engine has let me down, the wing seems to look after me!