Hello, Starting from the Bottom - Need advice

Hello,

I have become interested in the Paramotor hobby and this post is literally the very beginning of my search for information.   I've watched a number of YouTube videos and am trying to absorb as much information as possible.

I am located in the USA, South Florida.

I'm wondering if there's a good book on Paramotoring that has good illustrations showing the various components and explaining what each cable and piece of hardware is for, what it does and how it works so I can study and learn before I purchase a Paramotor.   I am a licensed private pilot so I'm somewhat familiar with airspace and basic flight dynamics, but of course, nothing with non-rigid wings.

At this point I'm mostly interested in a trike style Paramotor as I'm in my late 50's and it just seems more comfortable.  But not sure.

I saw a video by FlightJunkies and he (of course) claimed his trikes were better than most and went on to describe (very convincingly) why so.   His free flight training is quite an offer it seems.

What Paramotor trikes are highly recommended for beginners?   What wing?

So many questions.

Thanks for your patience.

Randy

Edited by HangTen

Hi Randy, I second that. Jeff Goin and the bible is the best place to start. Jeff is a highly experienced and respected paramotor pilot but he is also a commercial airline pilot and helicopter pilot and aviation journalist. He has dedicated a lot of time and love to progressing the understanding and safety of this sport. 

With regards to training and buying gear, alarm bells should be ringing - if you do some research you will quickly discover that there are two well known knob jockeys in the USA who offer either ‘super’ training or ‘free’ training and they both think they sell the best gear.. they are both rather discredited I’m afraid. Enjoy their entertaining videos on YouTube but I’d suggest going elsewhere.

15 hours ago, Patrick1 said: