High density altitude operations

airassault

Hi all,

I'm an avid paraglider pilot, and getting into paramotoring. I've got a great instructor lined up, Chris Santocroce, who also taught me paragliding. He sells parajet equipment which is available with just about any motor.

Soooo, I really am leaning towards the Zenith. I realize this is probably a better second motor than a first, but I know I'll prefer the "paraglider" feel to that of the volution. The ease of disassembly and packing are also appealing and useful to me.

I know this is beating a dead horse, but I need some advice choosing an engine. I'm at 5500' MSL, and density altitude here frequently approach 8,000'. I weigh 185 lbs. My wing is a new Vantage 27.

I'm very much attracted to the Bailey V5, I only worry that it won't be powerful enough for my altitude. I've pretty much been talked out of the Thor 200 after researching several forums and the associated issues. I suppose the Thor 130 would be an option.

Any advice for me in choosing an engine ? I hear rumors that a new engine might be coming to market soon.....

Hi airassault

I have just up graded to a Zenith Moster and can only say how impressed I am with the whole set up, the zenith is light and very well made, lots of attention to detail and when assembled its very strong. I went for the Moster engine as I think it's about the best on the market at the moment, light powerful and simple, it's never missed a beat in over 30 ours that I've used mine, I looked at the others available and at the time nothing compared, the bigger Thor 200 is / was beset with problems and is a fair bit heavier & I felt that the Baily wasn't really powerful enough for me, on full reflex and take off I don't like revving the nuts off and like a little in reserve, however I haven't used one so not really a fair opinion.