Which HD Camera

stuartasutherland

Having had a look about, the Go Pro certainly does produce mice results but is pretty ugly and protrusive.

The Drift HD 170 is slick, mounts anywhere, has a remote (not fussed about that) and a screen.

Contour looks like it is side mounting only.

I do like the Drift - has anyone got one? Feedback? Will there be a better Go Pro soon?

Got more important things to buy before a camera, but was just researching!

Thanks

Stuart

Yes my lovely wife bought me a HD170 Stealh for my birhtday not used it yet although did suggest i could strap it to certain parts and give it a try out (it was my bday) didn't go down that well i couldn't see the problem anyway's soon as i fly i will let you know.

Have played a little with it though (camara) and have to say its extremely easy to use and looks easy to mount etc.

I was lucky enough to get the Drift for Christmas, haven't used it for flying yet as I am still learning, but I have used it whilst out on my bike. The picture quality is excellent, it came with a, I think its a 4G SD card, so you have plenty of recording space. The battery will last for hours and will easily out run the recording time of the card. You get multiple mounts with it so you can strap it to your goggles, helmet or any other appendages that take your fancy!

You also get helmet mounts and handle bar mounts, but the velcro tape supplied for sticking it to your helmet did not fill me with confidence. It will link directly to your TV via HDMI cable which is great as you can see what you video looks like on the big screen, although the small LCD on the side gives a really good preview with sound!

One thing to watch is the MIC', I found that it picked up lots of wind noise on the bike so I didnt get to hear the lovely exhaust note whilst I was having a blatt within the legal speed limit, honestly occifer! However I gues you could shield the mike to prevent this by wrapping it?