Chase cam

My instructor (I'm a newbie) has a windsock with a metal bracket across the top of the windsock (the widest part) with a normal gopro mount riveted to the bracket and then tied by about 5 meter cable to trailing edge and he says it is perfectly stable.

I am going to give it a go (once I have learned to fly safely)

Edited by Guest

Training has been great (in Guatemala as I am traveling through Central America), only thing is my engine blew a piston about a week ago so waiting for parts to show up before I can continue. Still kiting though!

I was just getting to that stage where I wasn't scared anymore every time the engine roars to life on your back and the wind grabs your wing, but I am hooked already so waiting patiently-ish to get back in the air.

I should see him in the next couple days to clean out the engine and I will take some snaps of the chase cam for you.

Some useful info, pics and advice on this thread for chase cam and some other mounts...-

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=8927&start=15

Gordon, why do you suggest forward launches only with the cam attached?

I`ve already built one, but need to do a few more flights before i have the additional stress of having something hanging off the edge of the wing..

Maybe, it would work fine in stronger winds, but when I tried to reverse launch the camera tangled on the 'd' lines before I managed to turn. My Fusion can reverse launch in quite light winds. Seemed to work OK on this video though.

The string was 4.7meters (I know it was suggested that 4 was enough but on the ground when it was laid out, that looks a little short. I attached to the training edge using a small light weight fishing hook, about the 5th set of lines in from the right hand side, just angle the camera down and to the left a smidgen and hey presto - got lucky first time.

I know everyone says that April is a bumpy month but wow, it was still very thermic at 5-6pm last night, and quite cold at 800ft! (Hence the quick turn around).