How do I make my website top of the page on google?

tommcb6016

I have been working on a website for my wife as she is doing a degree in photography and wants to start earning some money along the way.

I have been working on it for a few weeks (from complete beginner) and am getting there with the site, it's still a bit rough around the edges but I'm still learning :-)http://www.clairemcbridephotography.com

What I want to figure out is how to get it to the top of the google search when i put in things like

"Banbury photography" or "Oxfordshire wedding" and so on ?

I have been submitting on google.co.uk/addurl for a few days but was after any other top tips people may have??

Cheers,

Tom :D

The site doesn't have any meta tags, these are essential and it's how search engines index your site.

Go to www.submitexpress.com and use

the meta tag generator to create your meta tags. Select your keywords and description carefully, try to make them as specific as possible.

Once you have created your meta tags, pasted them between the

tags of your index page. Make sure you also change the title of your index page, at the moment it's home, change it to something more descriptive, like Banbury wedding photography

Also write a short (250-500 words) descriptive introduction (perhaps under the main photo) on your index page on what the site/service is all about.

When you have done all of the above, upload the changes to your server and use the meta tag analyzer to see how your site now looks and performs. Tweak if necessary to optimise the sites performance.

The next time Google crawls your site it will read the meta tags and know what the site is about and index it accordingly.

There is more that can be done but this will definitely help your site ranking.

Hope this helps

Joe

I don't spend any money at all on any of my google advertising. The point of Self SEO is that you don't spend money on advertising.