Do RPM change if no prop is attached?

duncan_burdorf

Today I ran the motor without a prop to see what the RPM are but am not sure if the RPM changes due to no prop attached. I cant attach my prop as I have a faulty pulley and waiting for a new one.

My F200 without the prop runs idle between 3800 and 4050. Its this normal or should this be only measured with a prop?

If so, I am also awaiting a new wooden (two blade) prop will my RPM change between the 3 blade carbon fibre and the 2 blade wooden prop?

I'm no expert but yes, there will be a dramatic difference between the rpm of the motor under load between having a prop on and not having a prop. This applies both at tickover and higher revs.

Be very careful when applying higher revs as there is a real danger that you could over rev and damage the engine.

Do you know what rpm the motor ran at full throttle before removing the prop? If you have a tacho you can then at least ensure that you don't exceed that, but the revs will rise very quickly without a prop!

I'm sure someone more knowledgeable will be along in a bit.

Ian.

Hi Ian,

I do not know what the RPM with the prop was as I just bought this motor 2nd hand.

I did use a bit of throttle but did not exceed 6000 RPM as I don’t want the faulty pulley to break and cause more damage.

I did suspect that the RPM will be influence as the prop adds weight and resistance but wanted to be so sure.

Do you know if the new wooden prop which has only got 2 blades will make a difference?

Having had a quick google search (so far from gospel!), it seems the max rpm for that engine is 8,000 rpm. It would definately be worth trying to get a copy of the owners manual for your particular paramotor to make sure though.

Measuring the idle rpm without a prop is pretty pointless as far as setting the motor up. As soon as the prop is fitted the load will slow the motor down and any settings will have to be re-made.