2M or Airband?

bignos

Im a noob to paramotoring but have had ppl and flown gliders.

Im a little confused about which radio to buy, im told that 2m is the one that most PPG pilots use to contact each other in the air, however the airlaw section on this site says that its illegal to use it in the air.

Airband makes sense if i want to fly into my local microlight or gliding club, and i have a licence because of my old ppl.

Im considering getting a radio that does both but am not sure.... any help is welcome!

No radio is 'legal' to use while paramotoring regardless of your FRTOL (Flight Radio Telephony Operators License) status.

Ummm, why?

If it is a type approved set and has the appropriate paperwork done (eg an Icom A22), and you have a FRTL, why would that not be legal?

If it is a type approved set and has the appropriate paperwork done (eg an Icom A22), and you have a FRTL, why would that not be legal?

The installation itself requires approval for which there is no means provided for unregistered aircraft. Many microlights unofficially use handhelds as they can be removed when it is permit renewal time for this very reason.

Sorry to dissappoint but you'd have been better off spending half the price on a Vertex Standard than thinking it was worth the extra for the questionably 'approved' Icom.

Well, I have never had the misconception that my ICOM was approvable (it's an A24, so not type approved).

My understanding of the installation licence provision, is that a handheld set can obtain an 'installation' certificate for use in several aircraft. When I read the required paperwork, there was no requirement to enter an aircraft registration. Therefore, a type approved set can be granted a 'removable' installation certificate.

have a look here;

http://www.caa.co.uk/default.aspx?catid ... 2#aircraft

under option 3

I may of course be wrong, but then I don't give a wet slap :)