Macpara Velvet

Hello all, I have the opportunity to buy a package of a Macpara Velvet, Parajet Volution Comp plus reserve for£2700. They are reputed to be immaculate with 20hrs use. They were bought new 2008 by the seller. I just want to check if people think the wing would be acceptable for a complete newbie as the Macpara website states they are an intermediate wing?

Any advise greatly appreciated.

Hi,

There are two ways of looking at this. either you buy a wing rated as a novice wing then replace it down the line with a sportier one, or buy one classed as an intermediate and 'grow into it'.

What size Velvet is it?

I have looked at the certification for the 26 and the majority of test results are A, with a smattering of B's. There are two C results but they are for manoeuvres or conditions that you as a novice are not going to be even contemplating at the moment.

My feeling is that you should go with the Velvet, but with a couple of simple provisions.

Do not attempt to fly in iffy conditions, as a novice this is a given. Follow advice from an instructor or experienced pilot.

Be sure to only start with small brake inputs, again good practice for a newbie. It is easy to overreact with the brakes when things appear to getting out of control but start with a mental approach of making small control inputs.

You have some hard work ahead of you in mastering the ground handling but that's true for anyone as a newbie. Good luck.

All the above is my personal opinion as an experienced pilot, ask more for a wider view,

Cheers, Alan