WEIGHT/WING SIZE

tufty

H iall,

I write to you all as a complete newbie!! although quite a few hours surfing the subject leads me to this wonderful site! i livein northampton very close to you and i am an arable farmer who is fasinated in flight related activities! paramotoring looks like a fantastic way of enjoying this as a hobby, however my size may go against me being an ex saints front row rugby player of some 6'3'' and 110 kgs would this basically mean i would be too heavy to enjoy this sport? if not what sort of wing /motor would i need to do it successfully :lol: and are clubs like yourselves geared up to accommodate someone like myself with regards training or will i need to purchase my own equipment to do so. many thanks for your time.

vacey pocklington

Hi and welcome to the forum,No you are not to large to fly you just need the right kit.

I am sure Simon or some of the other pilots on here will get back to you with some good advise very shortly.

Just off out thats why its short and sweet

Pete b

Hope to see you soon.

Hi Vacey, I sympathise with your situation; I am even heavier but slightly ahead of you in terms of decision making. More expert people will add comments I am sure but essencially you should have no problem; it is just a case of choosing the right size wing and motor.

I am going the Dudek Synth 34 route as that will give sufficient lift so i don't have to run too hard! Clive Bunce who imports them I am sure will advise. In terms of motor, the good news there are several designed for heavier pilots/tandem use. Three to consdier are the Fresh breeze Monster, Parajet Macro and PAP F2. Some people will also say you can get away with less power. That in fact is the problem; everyone is so helpful you will gets lots (and slightly contradictory advice! :) ).

But in summary, you are well within the range for this sport and you have the added advantage of probably having you own site to fly from!!