Charging system for blackdevil and possibly others

Nikolatesla

Hi all ,

My first post here

I'm a nanotrike self builder and a bit of a tech geek . Most of our issues are the same except I have a hanglider wing rather than a canopy above my head.

I use the m25y pull start version and am very happy with it . I'm from down under if that is relevant and mostly fly alone (dont we all anyway?)

A point of interest . When I first flew the black devil I complained to alex and a few others that it was vibrating way too much . I changed anything including the prop is search of the problem.  Magically after about 10 hours use it cleared up and I realized that the motor was simply tight when new . It has been great ever since and the performance on a nano trike /hanglider is excellent 1.3 litres per hour if I fly nice . Usually coastal runs with a bit of lift . I still cant believe how little fuel i use but it is a high performance hang glider ..that might be it .

There has been lots of great help here over the years regarding motor,fuel, electrics and I can perhaps contribute with my current ambition to create a charging source for my trike which has a few instruments . Fuel gauge , cht, egt,gps,which rely on a 11.1 volt bank of lipos.

If i forget to switch off the battery goes flat in 3 hours. And I don't like lipos and their risks  in a flying machine

I tried to wind some extra windings on my black devil ignition coil with not much success and its not wise to steal power from the ignition area in any case .

My current approach is to mount some magnets (2 pairs) on the  drive pulley cooler ring , I don't know what it is called or its purpose other than cooling for the pulley.

Perhaps this has been tried before but I could not find any reference.