What Motor?

Im a few months away from buying a motor but is there any that i can or should rule out? Im 6 foot tall and weigh 103kgs so is there a certain size motor i should be aiming to look at? Obviously being a total newbie i want fairly slow and steady and nothing thats going to scare the living daylights out of me?!! As i say this is just for a bit of research on my part! :D

Blimey, are you my twin? I'm exactly 6 foot tall and exactly 103kg too.

My Pap delivers enough clout from a small engine to haul my arse in the sky, its also quite lightweight, very comfortable in the seat and is as smooth as custard flying around on about quarter throttle, in saying that I've only flown the darn thing twice but compared to the H&E I used in training, well there is no comparison frankly.

I guess everyone loves their own machine and loves to think they've bought the best one so you'll get a ton of different opinions on this matter!

Malc

Ive also been told i look like boris becker and ian dowie malcs so i really do hope you are better blessed than me in that department!! I had a tough paper round!!

Ok, ive heard about the PAP from quite a few people? Are these fairly easy to find? i will e looking at the second hand market when it comes to my motor! Thanks for the advice though :D

I started on a PAP and love the low hang point swining arm system. This is available on a number of machines and I now fly a Parajet.

You are going to be around 160kg all up weight so.....

You will need

at least 32kg thrust to sustain level flight in still air so at least 50kg for climbing flight. 60kg and you are starting to get a bit overpowered like the rest of us. If so you need more careful pilot input when flying it as the throttle is NOT a speed control but a pitch control (the wing speed is determined by its size, design and its control settings.)