licence

mac

Forgive me but i am new to this stuff. I don't want to sound stoopid but do you need a licence to fly a paramotor? I've seen different websites that suggest this training and that training and even one that said it's ok to train yourself(scarey) but nothing about a licence. :oops:

Hi Mac,

The sport is completely unregulated at the moment, in theory you could buy all the kit, drive to your nearest open field and launch yourself off without further ado. Clearly that would not be wise, but it would be legal as things stand.

The BHPA and BMAA, being established and to a point recognized, have an internal rating rating system that they employ based on their current experience and activities. They are by no means the experts nor the leaders in the field as they might claim to be in their core activities, but they have an organizational structure and bureaucracy.

Something will evolve over time I guess, till then we have a bit of an organizational void with the various factions vying for 'control'.

The Paramotor Club is independent not being affiliated to any of these organisations.

That's how I see it anyway.

Hi, being new to this sport myself, I'm not by any means an expert but as far as I have been told no licence or official qualification, BHPA / BMAA is required in this country at present. Future ?

What I don’t know and would like to add to your original question is, are any required to fly abroad ?

Thanks in advance.

Welcome :D

Again, the BHPA have arranged deals with sites overseas where they will insist that you have your card to hand if flying.. (they dont have any Paramotor sites though)

I have been free flying and Paramotoring in many countries and NEVER been asked for a card of any sort. :D:D

SW :D