Simons Skycar diary.

Sky Car Expedition 2009 London - Timbuktu

Man Truck in to Central London (Cheriton Hotel)

This was a good day for getting to know Ben Gott, who was our 8x8 Man truck expert with 3 Dakar races under his belt.

We had a good laugh getting this monster of a truck into the capital the look on people's faces was amusing. After our evening sponsors and press party, we stayed at the hotel which was to be my last night with the lovely wife Patti. The hotel was not as posh as I would have expected for a 5* but I am no expert.

The next day was the drive out of London for a re-group at Dunsfold Airfield. (Top Gear Track) It was a great day for getting some shots, and a much needed day for the 8X8 to sort out it's niggles and catch up from there to the ferry in to France. I jumped over in to the camera car for the drive to Dover which gave me a chance to get to know Steve Shearman who is a director working for C4. (he is quite a funny bloke I have to say!)

The first few days in France were a little slow. It just felt like being at home still, in the knowledge of what was to come later in the expedition. The team settled in after the first few days and we were all getting excited about the first major highlight of the trip. That had to be the Mumm Champaign Château. It is arguably the most exclusive seat to dine in the world. It is said that you can not buy a ticket for the seats we sat at for any amount of money! With its very few members made up of our planets great explorers I felt quite unworthy sitting there.... At least until the fast flowing Mumm started to kick in. We were drinking a bottle of Champaign worth £900 at one point! Our host (the Mumm No3) was explaining all about the fizzy which was something I wish I could remember.