Ab-initio PPG training

Hi,

Like most first-posters in this section I've been dreaming of PPG for several years. After seeing two guys launch from a beach in South Africa many years ago I became convinced that PPG was going to be the most satisfying possible form of personal flight. I've spent many years trying to figure out how to get involved (finances being the problem) and got a little side-tracked with skydiving but I now finally find myself able to commit to PPG. :D

I was rather conflicted about whether to first complete a CP rating and then convert to power or start from scratch with PPG... I liked the thought of beeing able to freefly when the occasion presents itself. I'm sure that the pure flying skills, airmanship and patience ;) you learn from a CP course are damn near invaluable but I have convinced myself that ab-initio PPG training is a better route for me. The type of flying that I would want to focus on i.e. long XC navs with the freedom to explore means that completing a CP might end up being yet another costly distraction for me. I realize and gladly accept that opinoins will vary on this topic.