Black Hawk 175cc

Vauxscott

Hi, I'm new to paramotoring and have recently purchased a second hand Black Hawk motor.

It's a cors air engine, looks to be an M21Y.

I'm having problems starting it, it spits and pulls the pull start clean through my fingers, which hurts a bit!

It does run pretty well once it's started though. I've had the decompression valve out and cleaned it, but it's still hard to pull and spits a fair bit.

Anyone had experience with these engines?

Scott.

Well I nearly made the mistake of trying to start it without the prop for my own safety but read the bit in the manual telling me this can cause" serious damage" so just left it as is.

Spigot, I'm not sure what the stator plate is? I took the pull start apart and greased anything that moves and made sure bits that don't move didn't.

Managed to get it started and warmed up, after it was warm it starts easily but is still a hard pull.

I'm not a small lad and I'm sure the effort required to pull this isn't normal so I'm still on the hunt.

I've got a few grades of plug coming in the post, both ngk and denso types to try, see if that helps with the backfiring/pulling the pull chord through my fingers issue...

Also, I see Con Air can supply a kit to convert to electric start, anyone got experience with this?

Thanks,

Scott

Hi Scott,

My stupid! The pull start version don't have a stator plate it only has the side mounted coil.

While changing the plug, look at the plug cap/ HT lead (make sure it's properly screwed on) apart from that not much to go wrong except a failing coil.

Con air sports list a pullstart to electric conversion for the 25Y at £361.83 but double check what motor you have as I'm only going off your picture :-)

Colin

Hi Colin,thanks for your reply. I've checked the ignition components and changed the plug.