Question about Airspace

Hey guys.

I'm interested in learning how to paramotor, although before I went any further with it, I'd like to ask a question regarding airspace.

I've had a quick look at the notaminfo map for the UK http://notaminfo.com/ukmap

And I was just wondering, around Haywood for example it says this:

Manchester CTA-3

Control Area (Class D)

3,000 Feet to 3,500 ALT

If I guess correctly, since I'm not experienced with this, it'd be safe to fly there, as long as I do not climb above 3,000 feet?

And also, if you look where Hathersage is, quite close to Castleton, there seems to be nothing at all there, presuming I could fly there at what ever altitude I please?

I would've thought it would be Class G airspace around there, but it makes me a little confused seeing nothing whatsoever.

Hi Alex, and welcome to the Paramotor Club. :-)

My suggestion is that you contact a local instructor who will guide you through both the Airspace and Other Air Law matters that will effect the go -no go answer.

Given that the airspace that surrounds you is all very serious a mistake would be as bad as it gets.

3rd party databases (similar too and including the site you have linked to above) for information about NOTAMS and airspace have recently on a number of occasions been inaccurate (like the RED ARROWS that were not displayed on notam info a couple of weeks ago and the spitfire display at the staff collage a couple of days ago was also missing.

My advice is to use a current chart, don't use the notam info site and check the NOTMAS at source http://www.nats-uk.ead-it.com/public/in ... mid=4.html

SW :D

Thanks for the reply Simon, I'm definitely interested in finding a local instructor to help me with everything, although first I'd just like a little bit of information about the airspace I talked about earlier before spending money training.