Does the BHPA really represent us?

I've been flying for 2 years now. First as a Paraglider Pilot and latterly as a Paramotor Pilot. I love both disciplines but in order to Paraglide, I have to drive over an hour away to the South Downs so Paramotoring is easier for me as the area of Kent I live in is rather flat and has no decent 'Hill' sites nearby.

I've been a member of the BHPA from the start but after reading a few posts on here, I've notice that the BHPA doesn't seem to like Paramotor pilots!

Got my copy of 'Skywings' yesterday (the BHPA members magazine) and apart from one tiny article / picture at the bottom of page 8, there's nothing about Paramotoring at all in any of its 52 pages! Loads about Hang Gliding, loads about Paragliding, but bugger all about Paramotors!

The BHPA club I belong to has many Paramotor pilots in it who also happen to be Paraglider pilots and yet the group seems extremely reluctant to form a 'Motor' section within the group - the 'die hard purists' seeming to think that the club should be for 'free flyers' only.

My question is why?

Why do we seem to be the poor relation?

Does the BHPA truly represent us and our sport?

Is my impression of the status quo wrong?

Thoughts please.

Pianoman

Sent from my iPad using PMC Forum mobile app.

I've been flying for 2 years now. First as a Paraglider Pilot and latterly as a Paramotor Pilot.

Does the BHPA truly represent us and our sport?.

In Skywings theres only one tiny picture at the bottom of page 8

Pianoman

If you form your own BHPA Paramotor Club you will get full support from the BHPA as well as your liability Insurances.

If you want to read stuff in skywings about Paramotoring, Paramotor Pilots have to write stuff.

Articles about Insurance, Repacks, coaching and punchy spring thermals probably don't contain the word Paramotoring but they are all relevant to Paramotor Pilots.

or is it just pictures you want to look at?

Blackbirdyxx