Paramotors and "crumple zone"

ptwizz

Apologies in advance for the rant; I was recently exposed to the online outpourings of an individual who I understand is notorious in the paramotoring community. As a result, I was prompted to do a little investigation into one of his more outrageous claims.

As most of us are probably aware, there is at least one paramotor sales person who makes great issue of their products alleged "crumple zone".

Working as an automotive design engineer, I have some insight into what is required of a crumple zone.

The purpose is to absorb impact energy in a manner which minimises peak forces experienced by the occupant.

This means a structure which will collapse with a force which varies as little as possible through the duration of the impact event. By manintaining an even force, the peak force values (those which cause injury) are reduced to a minimum for a given acceleration and displacement.

Tubular space frames do not exhibit this kind of collapse. Tubes fail in compression and bending by buckling. When a tube is loaded either in compression or bending, load can be increased until the tube reaches it's buckling point, at which the tube collapses very suddenly. This produces a very high peak force just before the collapse and very little energy absorbtion through most of the displacement.

A well designed crumple zone usually incorporates design elements which cause the material to fail in a series of bends. A crash beam for a passenger car will often have a series of notches pressed into it. Each notch will allow a partial collpse to initiate without the large force peak which is seen in buckling events. The design will also have to constrain the crash beam so that it is forced to collapse in the required manner and not simply bend away to one side or seperate from it's mountings.

It is possible to make a tubular crumple zone, but to do so requires a complex lattice of small tubes which is not practical for paramotor manufacture.