Thermalling with a motor

I am off to pick up my first paramotor next weekend, and I am so excited about it I'm finding it very hard to sleep! :mrgreen:

I have been freeflying for around 7-8 years, and I have done a few xc thermal flights, and I was wondering how many of you do much thermal flying? I really like the idea of taking off in the morning in nice calm air and then turning the motor off once the thermals pick up enough, and then restarting it again if I get too low and can't connect the next thermal. Is this possible or just a wonderful dream? Is it practical to pull-start a motor in flight?

Sure it's possible. I don't do it as much as I though I would (I'm from free flight as well) but it works fine. Takes some getting used to since the harness of a paramotor compared to a free flight gear is different. On a paramotor the risers are closer to the body and the seated position is more upright. Once you get used to that it'll be fine.

Starting in air is possible but you can't rely on it as you problably know.

Thanks for the advice, sounds like my dream may be possible!

I have bought a Rad Arrow (picking it up on Saturday 4th May), and I am told it's pretty easy to pull-start. I'll let you know how I get on...

In the meantime, if anybody has any stories about paramotor thermalling experiences I'd love to hear.

I do allot of thermal flying with my motor/motors

My Bailey V5 is sooo easy to restart in the air even when you have been engine off for 30mins or longer... The Two stroke not so easy... the primmer bulb on the moster zenith is a pig to get too (impossible) while seated. It starts ok when you turn off for a couple of minutes but longer periods it need to be primed

This is where electric start comes into its own on a two stroke..

Just my 2p

I owned a RAD paramotor when I moved over from PG to PPG

Due to its high hang point setup, it is not the ideal selection for thermal flying in my opinion.

I never found it a problem to re-start.

SW :D