Chesil Beach This Morning..

Anyone admit to the flight at head height right down Chesil Beach this morning ?? I was one of the dozens of fishermen beach casting just in front of you !!! Blue wing, red motor..

I know you were having a great time and I'm no expert, but it did look dangerous, the 10ft altitude at times did not leave much room for error...

Are you a regular flyer in the area, could meet up sometime..

Edited by Guest

Isn't there a Bird Reserve restricted area that takes up most of Chesil Beach? :shock:

You're quite right, there is a no fly up to 4000ft and he was just about in the middle of it ..

The bird reserve is Abbotsbury Swannery and the Queen gets right arsey if you upset her birds !!

• 2 weeks later...

.... and rightly so...

Like any activity, one or two will make errors or behave recklessly, but that's no reason for other aviators or the general public to suggest tighter regulation for all of us.

If someone is doing something wrong, they should be told.

We can't change them, or force them to fly within the law if they don't want to.

“Rules are for the obedience of fools and the guidance of wise men.” Douglas Bader

Whilst getting told off this morning by an 'official' of the paraglider flying club at Ringstead Bay for not being in 'the club' and having the nerve to ground handle in a public place without his permission (open field National Trust car park, massive field used by paragliders) I mentioned that I was practising with a view to paramotoring... WOW, he really does not like paramotors... He mentioned the guy that I initially started this post off with..

Appears he's a guy called Dave, poss from the Mere area ... Aparantly Dave regularly breaks all sorts of air laws, low flying over the hotel roofs in Weymouth, buzzing the bathers on the beach etc... A regular pain in the arse is Dave by the sound of it !! Seems to revel in giving us all a bad name..