Gerryatric newbie saying hi

Hi folks,

Just a quick introduction. I'm looking at getting into this as it appears I may not be able to dive anymore due to medical reasons (nothing that would bar me from aviation though!)

I have had some parachute experience along with an entire year of paracending (weekends) but that was over 20yrs ago. All I've done since is the odd 1500ft static line jump.

So, where do I start? I gather that ground handling is a big thing so I'm looking at a wing/harness to get me started. I'm guessing a fairly cheap eBay special will be suffice? What sort of money should I be looking at spending for each? If it helps, I'm about 15st and 5'8".

Ok, I hope that's enough to start with.

Aquanaut.

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi,

Welcome to the forum.

DONT BUY ANYTHING YET

Your first move is to find an instructor and get some training then think about buying kit. Your instructor will advise you on the wing motor combination that will suit you. Also the type of flying you want to do will have a bearing on the kit you choose again your instrutor would advise you .

As the sport is unregulated there are no medical requirements but if your problem is to do with pressure it may be a concern.

Have a read of the training blogs on the forum they should give you some idea of what to expect etc....

Hope thats been some help.

Cheers Col.....

I'll add a comment: don't be tempted to approach this as a self teaching activity. As said many times, it can and will bite you badly if underestimated by its apparent simplicity, plus you will develop habits that will take time to correct.

By the way, you will be able to practice on your own all you want after initial guide from an instructor.

cheers

dave

Welcome from another old git !!

I went out and bought a ground handling wing as a cheapie from E'Bay......Don't do it.