Learning to Paramotor - Cambridgeshire

Hi all, another newbie here...

I've decided to learn to paramotor as this is something I've really wanted to do for some time now. Realistically I expect to start in 2013, but may find time later this year if the weather plays ball.

I live in St Ives near Huntingdon (i.e. just down the road from ParamotorsUK). I see they say you need a paramotor before learning - should I look to buy kit before I'm qualified or should I go to a school that supply all the kit? I'm 14 stone so will need a decent motor, but is there anything specific I should be looking for or avoiding?

I have done a days paragliding and I absolutely loved it... but I'm sure this is a far cry from qualified powered paramotoring.

Onwards and upwards

Many thanks

Lee

Hi Lee,

There are a number of instructors on this forum, so you will get plenty of good advice on how and where to train.

I started in January this year and I'm now 1 flying exercise away from Club Pilot qualification under the BHPA scheme. This would have happened much quicker if it weren't for unpredictable weather and my prior commitments.

I have done my training at Airways Airsports in Derbyshire. A long trip, but I've done all the training in 6 weekends and you only do it once, so do it in a way that you're happy with.

Airways offer all training using their kit. Full details in my training blog.

It is my opinion that you can't be reasonably expected to commit to buying kit until you have at least some understanding of what you want - and that means fly before you buy.

Hope to see you as a regular on this forum and later in the skies.

Pete.

Bailey 175

Ozone Indy

Try giving Nigel a call at UKPPG in March he will train and supply all the equipment you need to get flying as well as excelent training you will get at least a dozen flights under your belt on his equipment he and Nikki will look after you well.

Hi Guys,

Thank you very much for your kind responses.