Darrel Training

I started training with Simon a few weeks back. Had a good few days of training and just when things were starting to gel the bad weather hit us. It's been a few weeks since I last saw any action and I was getting a little worried that i would forget everything I learnt. Anyway, I just picked up my new wing and thought I'd give it a quick go over the local park.

Good news is that I remembered nearly everything. Flew the wing on the risers first time and had it nice and controlled. Climbed into my harness and managed a couple of pretty good reverses. Then the wind picked up (well gusts anyway) and I realised just how big a 34m2 wing is. After a short run across the field and looking at the impending weather (check out the 3rd photo) , I decided it was time to pack up and go home.

So all looking good for that first flight. Just need a break in the weather and a decent day.

Darrel

Enfield-20120421-00185.jpg

Enfield-20120421-00182.jpg

Enfield-20120421-00184.jpg

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• 2 weeks later...

So the crap weather has made training a little difficult. I must admit that I’ve almost forgotten what Simon and Membury look like ;)

Anyway, the rain has stopped for now so my brother (Chris) and I took my wing and harness out for a little play. Had a really good couple of hours in wind that went from 0 to 15mph in an instant. Great fun when the wing was up since it lifted us up and away. What a laugh. Several reverse launches and push along runs makes me long for a motor on my back. How many times did I think “ If I had a motor on I’d be up and away by now”. Even worse when you think I have a motor sitting in my garage ready to go. Before anyone says anything, no I’m not that stupid. I’ll wait for Simon before I venture on my own. Still it’s very tempting.