Please allow me to introduce myself

Hello there.

I'm Pete, an engineer and keen motorcyce rider and builder. I've been attracted to small flying machines since I first saw a group of microlights land in the next field while I was at a motorcycle rally.

I have some flying experience, starting with a few hours on Chipmunks in the 70's, a short course ending with a solo circuit in a Swallow motorglider and a couple of 'experience' flights in microlights.

My brother (Frog - yes, that's his name) has been flying for years and took me for a tandem flight in Derbyshire a few years back, before emigrating to NZ where the flying is better. Frog is a very proficient flyer and has competed at international level.

After years of distant contemplation, I now have the cash in the bank and I intend to do a course with Airways Airsports (known to and recommended by my brother).

Before I can get started, I have to finish the bike I've been building for my wife. It's only been 13 years, so it's nearly done now. I am aiming to start flying in 2012, as soon as the weather is acceptable.

I've just read Phil's thread. I can only hope to progress at a similar rate once I get going.

I am in Old Buckenham in Norfolk. I've already found a couple of sites used by paramotorists, one just a few miles from me and another near the north Norfolk coast.

Pete.

Hi Pete,

I have been very lucky, which is the main reason I've managed to progress through training so quickly.

My only advice is to try to find someone who:

a). You trust (sounds like you're there with that one).

b). Fairly local. That way you can commit 100% & be at the field anytime the weather looks promising.

If the weather looks good try to get time off work & get down the field training because, if you leave big gaps, you tend to forget bits & then you need to work half a day or so to bring yourself back to the point you left off, which is frustrating for everyone.