Landing site Selection

Patrick1

Hi All,

I'm relatively new to the sport and am just finding my feet, I have a question on my recent landing site selection.

I was flying on Wednesday evening in pretty benign low wind conditions, after a relatively short flight, about 10 minutes, I landed on a cricket pitch with plenty of space. Happy to report is was a sound landing and no problems. However, I over-flew my anticipated landing spot by about 30 metres which meant I was landing within the rotor shadow of a tree line. Basically, I was landing into wind with trees in front of me.

I wanted to ask how dangerous this is? It was almost still air so the risk would have been reduced but if I did the same thing again in a slightly stonger wind, it strikes me that I could risk an asymmetric frontal collapse as I enter the rotor shadow when I'm pretty low?

I'm content that I should always avoid landing in rotor zones - that's not in question but I'm interested in measuring how much risk I'm exposing myself too in this context?

Before you ask, I have trained with a BHPA instructor and have also emailed him to ask advice and yes, will be doing some continuation training over the summer.

Hi Patrick,

It all depends on wind intensity.

If it's still air or pretty still, you can reasonably be safe in landing close to potential rotor spots.

It is when the wind starts to pick up that you can be in troubles. How much and what does that mean? It all comes with experience, but if you are unsure of your judgement while in the air, its simply better to avoid such landings.

The good thing about this sport is that you always have a second chance, if you find yourself over.flying the target, push the throttle, get some height and try again, or choose a nearby field and be prepared for a little walk back to the car.

Regards,

dave

Hi All,

I'm relatively new to the sport and am just finding my feet, I have a question on my recent landing site selection.