Dudek Synthesis 34 brakes

ganers

Hi all.

Ive done some digging on this on this site and can only find general references to this so I thought I would ask the question out right.

I've got the Synth 34 and my motor is a high hang point machine ( which I havent flown as I am still learning ). I have been ground handling the wing using a riggers harness which does put the attachment points lower than my motor but higher than a low hang point, roughly around nipple height but close to my chest.

The brakes are set for high hang points being that they go through both sets of pulleys, what I have noticed is that if its windy I need to take a wrap or two of the brake lines to get control of the wing on the ground to build a wall and make it behave. When the wing is up and over head I can release the wraps and handle it OK, but the brakes are just below my chest height to get them to bite.

When I have turned and am practicing a launch, i.e. running forward I still have control, however its stopping the wing where the problem crops up, when I pull full brakes to slow the wing so I can turn back to face it it feels like I need my arms to be a good bit longer to get the brakes to bite positively so I end up taking or my accurately trying to take wrap so it doesnt over fly and come down in front of me.

Whats got me is I have heard many pilots saying they take a wrap for landings to get a full flare and I am wondering if this is what I will need to do or is it the harness I use for ground handling as my motor harness would put the risers further away from me.

Cheers Lee.

Hi Lee, there seems to be a few issues here so I will add a few suggestions to whatever other people come back with:

1. Make your ground handling harness more like your motor harness dimensions by adding an extra karabiner or webbing loop each side to lengthen it.