Dave H's Training Blog

Well, what can I say, training paid for and met SW last weekend.

Too windy to get a wing out but had a good introduction to the Motor. Now just keeping my eye on the iPhone Weather Pro app!

I've had no flying experience before and can't wait to get going.

Dave.

• 11 months later...

Well it's been a while!

A combination of work and terrible weather has meant that its taken me what seems forever to get this far. I got to the stage of being ready for my first flight during the middle of 2011. Then, mainly because of strong winds and living around 2 hrs from the field (couldn't take advantage of last minute breaks in the weather etc), it was almost 3 months before I managed to get back to the field

It was like starting again, from scratch. Seriously, it was like everything I had done before was just a dream and I hadn't really been to Membury before!

After another couple of days training it was starting to come back, together with my confidence. So much so I decided to buy a wing off of Lee a club member. The proud owner of a revo 2 meant I could practice a little ground handling a little closer to home.

Circumstances meant that I didn't return to Membury for another 2/3 months but this time it was like I was just a little rusty and, after my second days training over only 3 weeks I had shown enough to Simon to say I was ready for my first flight!

Then came winter and another big layoff!

Returning last month, just a day of ground handling Simon was happy again that I was ready for my flight. Now it was a waiting game - weather pro was my friend - studying it for those close to perfect conditions!

It came - 14th March 2012 - so turned up at Membury at 9:30 only to find thick fog and 100 yard visibility! I wasn't giving up now - sat around drinking tea and watching DVDs until about 2pm when it finally started to clear and blue sky was starting to appear.