Kobra Vs Bailey

ek2000

Hi,

I am going to get a new motor in the next few weeks. I was planning to make the final decision after the Flying Show on the 27th, but one of the brands I was hoping to see is not going to be there, so I have to ask my questions here.

I am looking for a bigger motor - I am 6'3" and a bit over 100kg on the bathroom scales. Oh, and I want to be able to take my wife flying tandem every now and again... But also I am a PG pilot and like flying XC and flying in the Alps. I know these requirements are not easy to combine, but it is worth a shot :)

I am down to a couple of motors: Bailey 4V with the 130cm prop, and the Kobra Rocco Super (Simonini 202cm + 3 blade 130 cm prop), and there is the outside chance of the Powerjet 160 Rotron.

Can you guys comment on these motors if you have experience with them? Ease of use, reliability, comfort in flight (I know this one is subjective) and noise levels, flying power off?

One motor that I would have liked is the Nirvana Instinct, but between the lack of dealer support in the UK and the stratospheric price tag (not to mention the waiting list until March...) it is off the list.

Thanks,

Eugene

Hi Eugene,

I got your PM by email, but not in my message box here (??) so couldn't reply to you direct...

Like you I was flying a Walkerjet RR200 previously, which was great in many aspects but I wanted something more 'active' as I always felt like a passenger in it and not as 'involved' as when flying PG.

There is a good review of the Bailey here: http://footflyer.com/Equipment/Paramotors/bailey175/paramotor_review_Bailey175.htm but for more active flying I narrowed my choice to either Pap or Kobra, and went for the Rocco Super (Evo ST version). I hadn't seen the Bailey active chassis system, but having seen a similar design from AEF gliders at the St. Hilaire festival I imagine it would also work very well.