Aeronautical chart question

duncan_burdorf

As I am starting my flying lessons next week I’m trying to do as much homework as possible and so far its going well but I cant get my head around the following and hope that an experienced UK aviator can clarify it for me.

I bought the new “Sheet 8 England South Edition 8 (2010)” 1:250 000 chart and can see a (red) “Class A” line go all the way out into the North Sea from London Stansted.

I live in Colchester and can see West of Colchester “LTMA [A] 4500+” does this mean that a paramotor can fly below that altitude without a radio or is a radio required at all levels within these boundaries?

I would appreciate a simple answer as I’m a novice.

Many thanks

Duncan

Untitled-1.jpg

Colchester is under loads of controlled airspace but I think your ok upto fl55 dropping to fl45 to the west. I wouldn't go anywhere near that though because you may accidently go into controlled airspace.

I think LTMA stands for "London Terminal Maneuvering Area"

I'm sure someone else can give you more detail.

Tom :D

Hi Tom and Neilzy,

Thanks for taking the time to reply.

So I was correct in thinking that its OK to paramotor in this area as long as I stay below those altitudes.

Regarding Neilzy's question, I'm will be having lessons in Braintree from Alex and Mike.

Do you fly in the area?

Many thanks again.

Duncan

I fly out from Sible Hedingham area over to Bures etc all around there. I am mainly under Stanstead 3500 airspace. I dont go over 2500 which is a nice safe margin.

Avoid 'G' glider sites (Blue G and circle) and the Military zone, where you will be target practice, Bradwell power station whenst you will glow in the dark, these two are clearly marked with red diagonal lines. Make sure you understand the map for the area you will be flying in.

PPG Bible has a good explanation of air space.

A little tip. I often take a scan or photo of the piece of map I will be flying in. Print it out and carry that on my flight.