Cravats,Stalls,Spins anybody?

Hi everyone,

I have been flying for around 10 years.

I just plod around the sky enjoying the view and am not interested in pushing myself or my wing but have made mistakes and took off only to find the sky not as friendly as I thought.

In all these years I have never had a Cravat,stall,spin,collapse or anything that required emergency action.

I have read a thousand times what to do but how I react if it happens remains to be seen.Unfortunately its not something we get to practice before it happens for real.

So all you guys and girls that just fly to enjoy the view,have you had a similar event free few years or am I lucky and my Fusion is just waiting to catch me off guard .

ps If you wonder why I fly a Fusion if all I do is potter around on sunny evenings its because its such a joy to fly,even if its wasted on me.

I cannot help thinking that this is a very relevant post and I relate to it totally.

Although I have had only a few hours on this type of aircraft, I already know that I'm going to be a similar pilot to Cambodia (plodder). Mainly because I get motion sickness :oops:

Thanks for the alternative viewpoint Cambodia.

Dan

Dan,its so beautiful up there you don,t need to do acrobatics to get the biggest thrill in the world.

Just enjoy the view.

When I was learning to paraglide in the 90,s I was sick on my first ridge soaring flight from 200ft.

Missed the instructor thank god.

Now Im OK :D

Risk assessment is a hard lesson to teach.

It requires previously acquired consequences to be properly realized and applied to flying, especially when you plan to fly safely.

I recall being told that even though one comes out of an unforeseen extreme event without a scratch, if you do not assess what went wrong you can simply consider it one tick on the counter toward when it WILL go bad. That is, the one in a hundred event WILL get you if you don't learn from the ninety-nine you got away with (if you're that lucky).