Flying in the rain - a warning

norman

I don't normally cut and paste posts from other places but here is a little missive that I am sure the author wouldn't mind being passed on as it is safety related.

Yahoo PPG Pilots Forum

I do not normally share embarrassing incidents but a few weeks ago i had

> a serious crash that could have been very nasty. The reason i am sharing

> this is i do not want any other pilots to make the same mistake i did.

> I am okay but my paramotor chassis was mangled.

>

> I have frequently flown in rain and until recently believed that

> reflexed wings were safe in wet weather. I am a comp pilot and have

> flown in some rather extreme conditions both in the UK, Czech Republic,

> Poland and Chile.

>

> After getting very frustrated with the typically crap UK weather, I took

> off in marginal weather and after 15 minutes flew right into a very

> heavy downpour . The rain was so heavy i decided to return to my

> airfield - on final approach i applied full slow landing trim and some

> moderate brake pressure - and promptly entered into a full parachutal

> stall from about 40 ft. I instantly released brakes and hit the bar

> hard in an attempt to get the wing flying - this action may have saved

> my bacon. With insufficient height to enable a full recovery i impacted

> pretty hard. After doing some research i have noted the following which

> might offer an explanation behind my stall:

>

> In heavy rain a thin water film forms on the upper canopy surface. This

> water comes from the residue of the raindrop that is not splashed back.

> The raindrops form small impact craters and surface waves in the water

> film, which roughens the aerofoil surface. This creates additional

> surface friction and disruption of the boundary layer.

>

> In addition the mass of the wing increases as they absorb water. If we

> assume the wieght of the wing plus the mass of air inside at 12kg in dry