CP paraglider considering conversion

Hi all,

Recently qualified hill paraglider seriously tempted with motoring. A couple of questions:

1. I purposefully bought the new Swing Arcus 5.26 as apparently the Arcus 4 had already been certified for motoring so I thought the 5 would be too eventually (I think you fit "power risers" or something). Could someone let me know if this is regarded as a good/safe motoring wing (I love it so far on the hill)?

2. I'm a total newbie but I like the look of the Parajets mainly because they seem more compact, are made solely for motoring (ie not a converted lawn mower engine etc). Am I just saying this because they are better marketed or are they really viewed as the best available?

3. What is the main gist of the training, is it mainly ground handling followed by a few circuits or do you need to do lots of big flights to get qualified? Assuming I'm a competent CP should 2 days see me trained?

4. Finally schools, any recommendations?. I'm in Cheshire but I may be learning with a mate in London. We trained together at a PG school in the north so he may insist on learning motoring down his neck of the woods!

Thanks in advance.

Hi Fellow Arcus Flyer :D

My opinions and views for what they are worth:-

I learned on a swing Arcus 2. I bought the power risers for it and flew it with a PAP1300. It was absolutely BRILLIANT. Assuming they have not radically changed the design you will find it a perfect free flight wing and also a very good PPG wing.

The power risers are simply a set of replacement risers that have the ability to let the rear two riser sets extend a little. This makes the airfoil section flatter at the rear 1/3 and the wing flies a bit faster. the angle of attack is reduced but not in the same way as putting on the speed bar.