Props.

Please use this thread to continue the conversation about Props.

I would like to start by saying, I know 100% that the compact Parajet (the one that I fly) has a prop that is 100% designed and built for Parajet. The same can be said for the Micro.

Although I know that Giles had something to do with the design of the prop on the Macro (Normans motor) It does not stop the maker for selling them to someone else.

SW :D

Hi guys

I'm a newbie and thought I would jump in with a post and say Hi.

My other aircraft is a gyroplane with a ground adjustable prop. I have spent a lot of time and money playing with these things. I replaced my original GSC three blade with an adjustable Arplast three blade. The main benefit being the reduction in weight and therefore load on the engine and a slight increase in thrust. There is no manufactuer recommended or designed prop/engine set up for my aircraft.

I am no expert but would suggest that it will be almost impossible to improve on or match the orininal manufactuers set up. I am assuming here that we are talking about a well designed and thought out motor package from a leading vendor.

An adjustable prop will at least be heavier, more complex, and if wooden need checking reguarly for adjustment changes due to to environment effects on the wood. It is also one more thing to go wrong, and in aviation you really want to keep it simple.

In my case with the gyroplane I couldn't afford to loose any thrust as my engine performance was marginal.

PaulB

...My other aircraft is a gyroplane with a ground adjustable prop. I have spent a lot of time and money playing with these things. I replaced my original GSC three blade with an adjustable Arplast three blade. The main benefit being the reduction in weight and therefore load on the engine and a slight increase in thrust. There is no manufactuer recommended or designed prop/engine set up for my aircraft.