What to go for??

`Hi everyone. Newbie here in leicestershire already started ground training. What kit should i be looking for at getting me airbourne at 15 plus stone? Not got alot of money to throw at it but will stretch for the right kit.Have heard that you need to get it right or you will be constantly changing due to not enough power. gazz.

Hi Gazz,

I'm learning too so not sure if I can advise on kit.

I would say that size of the prop is a factor in thrust, so don't forget to look into this aspect not just engine size.

The problem with starting out in this sport is that people won't lend you their kit so you can have a try on some differtn machines 'cos if you fall over and snap a prop or bend a cage it can be expensive.

Even schools like Airways, (which is probably the nearest school) where you fly their machines when you learn will charge you to replace a prop if you have a tumble.

Your best bet is to speak to as many dealers, pilots and instructers as you can, and you'll get a broad range of advice. It's not easy to get impartial advice, but there are lots of pilots in Leicestershire.

I'm in Leics too (Quorn), so get in touch if you fancy a ground handling session and/or a beer.

Cheers,

Mike

:) `Hi Mike. Thanks for the reply.You are right in your reply on all fronts! Im being taught ground handling at the moment at our club site airstrip.Not finding it too difficult at the moment,although the wind is playing a big factor in when i can nip to airfield and have ago :x Keep in touch mate,and pop along to us sometime if you need a field im sure the guys will make you welcome when they are there and can get airbourne :roll: gazz.

And smaller tri bladed props are less efficent, heavier and not welcome at some sites due to the noise they make from the engines over revving and from the props themselves.