Radio Frequency

gaoler

Hi everyone,

I am very new to the idea of paramotors, I have experience as a bit of a rotorhead but fancy having a go at a more affordable method of flight!

I have looked at this forum and am a bit confused about the use of radios, I see everyone talking about the 2m band, I am a licenced radio amateur of over 25 years standing and as far as I was aware the 2m band 144-146mhz is a primary band for the use of UK radio amateurs.

Amateur radio cannot be used in the air either.

What exactly do users mean when referring to "2m" in these forums? Is it a case of using 2m handhelds with extended frequency coverage for use by pilots?

:?

Welcome to the forum, but I fear that you might be taking the p***!!!

You come on here with gaoler as a username and expect people to respond by incriminating themselves to your first ever post!

Apologies for my suspicious mind if this is a genuine enquiry, but you must see how it looks?

Best regards,

Ian.

A lot of pilots are licensed to use airband, this helps when communicating with airfields if crossing airspace etc, also PMR is common for cheap communications.

If you are thinking of becoming a paramotor pilot then the type of radio you use is the least of your concerns, personally I don't bother with a radio anymore - text messages seem to be the easiest (and vague hand signals)

As soon as Eddie sorts out a linking plug thingy for the I Phone I will swap over to just my phone, for comms, GPS, Google Maps, Pics, and stuff.

Just waiting for some tec head to create air charts for the I phone.

SW :D

Hi Simon,

I would also be interested in a cable to link up my phone, especially if I could use the PTT button on the left earcup to answer etc.

Do you have someone working on it?

The idea of GPS/Phone/iPod/paramotor headset combination is phenomenal, perhaps I could even use some game apps whilst I am up there!!