Flights (Airline to France)

togsie

All,

I've just made a quick search for flights to Poitiers; to fly out on the 21st and return on the 28th the only option seems to be a flight from Heathrow with a change at Paris. Cost about £150.

If we could jiggle things around and go out a day early (Friday) and return a day later (Sunday) there's a flight with Ryanair from Stanstead. Cost with taxes is about £36, even with the usual Ryanair extras it still looks like a good deal.

Thoughts anyone.

Regards.

Togsie.

Hi Togsie.

If I get a place i'm thinking of driving down on Friday night and Saturday morning, if you fancy sharing the cost and the driving, give me a PM, we could get all the kit we need in my Astra van and take other peoples stuff if need be, if you are taking your own wing then it will cost you quite a bit on a commercial airline in excess bagage charge.

David

Hi all,

Got myself booked on the absolute beginners course in France . Flight from Stanstead does look like a good deal ,shall have to look into it, also not a bad idea to arrive early and get used to the local wine.

Got no kit as such , just my overnight bag so will be travelling light.

I'm in Northampton so if anybody else fancies this route and is on the way just get in touch and maybe we could arrange something.

Regards

Tim

David / Tim,

I hope to speak to Piers sometime soon to discuss the options for getting out to France. I spoke to Pete B yesterday and he seemed to think that transport for the instructors was sorted, both he and Piers are driving over. Pete did say that there would be room in his van if anyone had any kit that they need transporting (I hope that I got that right Pete).

My own preference would be to get a cheap flight out to France, but then again sharing a lift and enjoying the views on the way to Poitiers has it's attractions too.

The way the Ryan air pricing works we'll need to book up fairly soon to get the best price.