Comparison of wings

normhandley

Hello all, is there a list of all paramotor wings that tell the differences between each with prices? I'm fairly new at this sport and am needing to know which is the best wing to get. I don't want the least beginner wing, so I'm leaning toward an intermidiate wing. I have kited about 10-12 hours with a training wing. Everyone wants to sell their wing, which is always the best. Please be honest and give me what you know. Thanks, Norm

Does anyone know what mass manufacturers test their gliders at for the 8g rating?

I know it depends on glider size, but that's standardized right?

Example:

103kg-130kg rated glider is tested at (in this example 99kg naked pilot mass) 8Gs and passes.

What mass was it tested at?

In this case the possible range difference is over 215kg.

I will assume until someone corrects me that the same mass (per size variation) is used to calculate polar, min/trim/max speeds and glide ratio.

I just can't believe I'm only thinking to ask this question now....

Important?

Hmmm...

Say they use naked weight @ 99kg

and I motor up to 150kg not too far over the 130 range for the wing.

Now my G rating is dropped to 5.28 instead of 8.

Not saying I'm going there soon, but I am feeling rather ignorant all of a sudden.

I invite enlightenment.

Forget the G rating of the wing, if you are paramotoring then all this force is being transmitted through two tiny arms of your machine, check the manufacturers rating of your motor, for example H&E say that their stainless steel arms will resist torsion up to 7Gs - but I have seen enough bent arms at the AAIB to put me off pulling any sort of high energy manouvre.

I have never paid too much attention to G ratings before because of the reasons that Pete and Dan have mentioned already, but i suppose it would make sense to understand.

If a paraglider has been load tested to EN standards by Air Turquois, the load testing report is can be seen at: