How Risky is Paramotoring?

Hi

My friend and I have been paragliding for a few years and we both just recently embarked on the long held dream of powered flight.

Are there any other free flyers on here who also paramotor and how did you feel during your early powered flights?

I've had three flights on my PAP in good conditons but don't seem to be able to fully relax and enjoy the experience...yet. I cant put my finger on what it is, maybe I'm just not used to a noisy motor pushing me along after so many hours of silent soaring and in my head I'm thinking stuff like 'there is so much that can go wrong here!' and 'oh, look how far back my wing is!'

There's no good reason to think like that as I am methodical and consistent in my pre-flight checks, my gear is in great nick, I have always flown in calm conditions and I fly sensibly.....there's really no reason for being nervous.

Many pilots reckon free flying is riskier than PPG due to the rising air that gliders seek. I've had my fair share of edgy free flying moments and coped fine so paramotoring shouldn't play on my mind from a safety point of view.

Hopefully my confidence will grow as I get more flights under my belt and I will learn to relax and enjoy my dream!

Joe

Hi Joe,

I started flying a few yeas ago with a motor to begin with and no free flying experience. The risks are more or less proportional to the amount you push your flying. In my early days I tried to turn tightly while under power and suffered an assymetric collapse about 300 feet from the ground. I turned through about 180 degrees and plummeted to the ground. At about 50feet from the ground the wing reinflated and thoughs of being killed went away. I was flying a tradional paragliding wing, a Trekking Civic at the time. It was not the wings fault it collapsed, only mine for asking it to do a ridiculous manoevre which caused the stall of the wing.